Saturday, May 23, 2015

Southern Surf Stomp! presents The Revomatics (WI), The Compartmentalizationalists, Woven In

Although not the only game in town, The Revomatics are Milwaukee's premier surf act, culling from the old as well as new.  The band has been working hard and reaping the benefits having opened for Dick Dale and the B-52's, performed for perpetually packed crowds at their home of Lucky Joe's Tiki Room (where they recorded a live album), made several recent radio appearances, and received many favorable reviews by the local press.  Last year I had the pleasure of witnessing their performance on a sold out cruise on Lake Michigan and let me tell you, these gentlemen surely know how to captivate an audience and show them a good time.  Armed with their brand new album "We Come In Peace", these Northern aggressors are invading our event where they must succumb to the charms of our Southern hospitality.

The Compartmentalizationalists is one of the many projects headed by one of Atlanta's favorite multi-instrumentalists JeffreyBützer.  This trio of guitar, bass, and drums features members of his band The Bicycle Eaters and specializes in noisy instrumentals inspired by surf rock, Spaghetti Western soundtracks, and the likes of Sonny Sharrock and Sonic Youth. 

Woven In dances in the shadows of dusk, where light is replaced by darkness.  Band leader Mariah Johnson's low alto is brooding over her reverb drenched jazzy guitar lines, culminating in delicate music that also bears a great load on its tired and shrugged shoulders.

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Southern Surf Stompcast, episode 9

Episode 9 showcases groups that will be performing at this year's Instro Summit, the world's largest instrumental music festival held at Cat's Crade in Carrboro, NC May 15-17. Also featured is an interview with Crispy Bess, the event's coordinator and member of bands Killer Filler and Phatlynx.

Track list:
The Out Of Limits - "Aimpoint"
Astronaut SexPants - "Drunken Fist"
El Capitan & The Band With No Name - "Pistols At Dawn"
Arrows Out - "Postmarked"
Aqualads - "Surfers Revenge"
The Mystery Men? - "The Life Of Riley"
Blood Red River - "Cöty Mündi"
AmpFibians - "Ataque De Los Conquistadores"
Tsunami Experiment - "Last Man On Earth"
Gemini 13 - "Halter Top"
The Surge! - "Deflector Shield"
Kinky Waikiki - "Surfin Sullivan"
Kinky Waikiki - "Procession Of The Virgin Fire"
Barrow Boys - Ghosts Of Quintana Roo"
The Monterreys - "The Pharaoh"
9th Wave - "Fueled For Surf"
Crazy Aces - "The Long Ride"
Insect Surfers - "Sea Scorpion"
Atomic Mosquitos - "Meltdown"
MOONBASE - "Cherry Blossom"
Killer Filler - "Go This Way"
Genki Genki Panic - "976-EVIL"
The Del Rios - "Baja Coastline"
The Krektones - "Twisted Troll"

Arrows Out - "..."
Aqualads - "Crystal Cove"
The Surge! - "Dragonfly Sunday"
Killer Filler - "Suburbanite"
Crispy Bess - "Smoker's Section"
Insect Surfers - "Polaris"
Atomic Mosquitos - "Dead Sea Stroll"

Intro and outro music, "Southern Surf Syndicate Theme", provided by The Penetrators. 

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Highlights from Southern Surf Stomp! on April 18, 2015

The Penetrators with (left to right) Jet Powers, Stix Stechkin, Eddie Katcher, Richard Hawes, and Trace Luger

El Capitan on guitar

Johnny McGowan on guitar

Trace Luger

Stix Stechkin

Rodeo Twister

Jay Murphree

Chad Proctor

Matt Sprague
Eddie Angel backed by Richard of The Mystery Men? and Trace and Stix of The Penetrators

MVP of the evening goes to Richard Hawes for coordinating the whole evening
The evening's veritable museum of amplifiers